No ‘God of cricket’: Shahid Afridi picks all-time World Cup XI, ignores highest run-scorer


The 12th edition of the World Cup is just around the corner and former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi has picked his all-time World Cup team.
He has included many players from the past with the list consisting of five Pakistan players and only one Indian.

Shahid Afridi’s all-time World Cup XI: Saeed Anwar, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, Virat Kohli, Inzamam ul-Haq, Jacques Kallis, Wasim Akram, Glenn McGrath, Shane Warne, Shoaib Akhtar, Saqlain Mushtaq.

What is even more shocking is the exclusion of Sachin Tendulkar from the team. The Little Master has appeared in six editions and has scored 2278 runs in 44 innings at an average of 56.95 with 16 half-centuries and six centuries.

The list also misses World Cup-winning skipper MS Dhoni. The former Indian captain is considered to be the greatest finishers of the game and has also led India to a World Cup triumph back in 2011.

Meanwhile, the 2019 World Cup kicks off on May 30th with hosts England taking on South Africa. The final will be played at Lord’s on July 14.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.